“Saturday Night At The Movies” – Reviews Amazon

 

Amazon (DE)

 

“Diese Jungs haben den richtigen Ton getroffen und die schönen alten Lieder zu neuem geradezu besserem Glanz verholfen. Ich bin sehr zufrieden. Danke an diese hervorragende Band!!!”
18.06.2014 – Birgit Kleine – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Bin sehr zufrieden, könnte die Songs den ganzen Tag rauf und runter spielen. Die CD ist genau das, was ich wollte, ich liebe Swing und Jazz.”

06.06.2014 – Monika Jersch – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Eine tolle CD mit phantastischen Stimmen. Sehr zu empfehlen. Ich werde weitere CDs ordern und freue mich jetzt schon auf den Hörgenuss.”

03.05.2014 – O. Kruse – Bewertung: 4/5

 


 

“Musik, die gute Laune macht! Die Lieder sind vielen im original Ton bekannt, doch so neu aufgenommen sind die Lieder super. Selbst unsere Kinder finden sie toll.”

10.03.2014 – NaRo – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Also diese CD kann ich ruhigen Gewissens weiterempfehlen, da mir die Musik sehr viel Freude macht und die Boys wirklich sehr angenehme Stimmen haben und die bekannten Titel einen etwas neuen Touch erhalten.”

23.02.2014 – Elisabeth Koller – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Saturday Night at the Movies von The Overtones ist für mich persönlich DAS Album 2013! Mit insgesamt 21 Titeln bietet es mehr als eine Stunde Musikgenuss der Extraklasse pro Durchlauf. Mir fällt dabei nicht ein einziger Song ein, den ich nicht gerne hören würde – und mal ganz ehrlich, wann hat man das mal? Von Anfang bis Ende ist jeder einzelne Song – ob Cover oder aus der eigenen Feder stammend – wunderschön gesungen und entspricht dem typischen Overtones-Sound mit viel Pep und Harmonie. Dabei ist durchaus zu merken, wie viel Herzblut und Sorgfalt in die Auswahl der Songs und auch die Umsetzung selbiger geflossen ist.

Dadurch, dass viele der gecoverten Lieder aus den großen Filmen sehr bekannt sind, ertappt man sich schon beim ersten Anhören dabei, wie man mit dem Kopf im Takt nickt, mit den Fingern mittrommelt oder mit den Füßen mitwippt – besonders Mutige wagen bereits beim ersten Hören einen zaghaften Mitsing-Versuch. Das habe ich im Selbsttest, aber auch bei Familienmitgliedern und Freunden beobachtet, mit denen ich dieses Album einfach teilen musste. Egal ob vorher schon Fan oder absoluter Hör-Neuling, ob Anfang 20 oder Anfang 70 – jeder, dem ich dieses Album vorgespielt habe (und das waren wirklich einige!), war bisher sehr angetan davon und hatte vom ersten Moment an sichtlich Spaß am Klang der Overtones.

Daher kann ich nur eine absolute Kaufempfehlung aussprechen. Ich hatte selten ein so gutes Album in den Händen und möchte es in meiner Sammlung definitiv nicht mehr missen! Gute Laune ist selbst an grauen Regentagen garantiert!”

10.01.2014 – K. Voß – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Meisterwerk! Mit ihrem aktuellen Werk „Saturday Night At The Movies“ haben es „The Overtones“ geschafft, dass der Silberling bei mir in Dauerschleife läuft.

Auf dem Album findet man eine sehr gute Auswahl an musikalischen Filmklassikern, die (zum Großteil) eigentlich jeder kennt. Somit ist der Mitsingfaktor schon recht hoch und wer den Sound aus den 50er-60er mag, wird von dieser CD alles andere als enttäuscht sein.

Es befinden sich mit „Miss Hollywood“, „All About You“ und „Superstar“ auch drei Eigenkompositionen auf dem Album. Das musikalische Gewand haben die Herren bei den Liedern beibehalten und passen super zum restlichen Album.

Auch die Weihnachtssongs können sich mehr als hören lassen. Die Versionen sind einfach genial!

Es ist nicht möglich bei dieser Musik stillzusitzen. Mindestens ein Fuß ist immer am wippen. :)
Ich bin von diesem Album wirklich mehr als begeistert.”

07.01.2014 – Angie – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Wie schon so schön im deutschen Fernsehen erwähnt, “liegt diesen 5 Jungs ganz England zu Füßen” und das nicht ganz ohne Grund!

Wer auf lässige Acapella-Musik vom Feinsten steht, ist mit diesem Album goldrichtig! Hier kann man das Talent dieser 5 Jungs förmlich hören.
Gleich der erste Track “Saturday Night at the Movies” vermittelt einem gute Laune und der (hauptsächliche) Lead-Sänger Timmy Matley bringt einem durch seine unglaubliche Stimme einfach zum Lächeln.
Nicht das es diese Gruppe nötig hätte, sich durch Effektgeräte die Stimmen verbessern zu lassen; sie hören sich Live genauso gut, wenn nicht sogar besser an.
Sie leben einfach dadurch Songs natürlich und akustisch zu covern und später durch musikalische (und sogar orchestralische!) Begleitung zu verbessern.
Doch zurück zum Album:
Es sollte angemerkt werden, dass dieses Album hauptsächlich Cover enthält, was ein wenig schade ist, da die Jungs schon mit dem letzten Album bewiesen haben, dass sie auch hervorragende eigene Songs produzieren können. Dies tut der Qualität der Songs aber nichts ab und wie schon erwähnt, macht diese CD einfach gute Laune!
Neben ein paar herausragenden Songs wie “Pretty Woman” und “Do you love me?” gibt es auch ein paar, die gefühlt ein wenig “untergehen” vor lauter tollen Titeln.
Dazu gehört meiner Meinung nach “It had to be you”, der aber nicht weniger gut ist! Schön sind auch die wenigen langsameren Songs wie “Moon River”, die sich auch vor allem (mal nebenbei angemerkt…) durch die fantastische orchestralische Begleitung hervortun!
Alles in allem ist dieses Album natürlich ein MUSS für alle Overtones Fans (und alle die es noch werden wollen!) und diejenigen, die auf unkomplizierte Acapella Musik mit Groove stehen! Es lohnt sich aber auch für die, die einfach mal eine neue Musikrichtung ausprobieren möchten.Mein persönlicher Favorit (vielleicht für ein paar ein wenig überraschend?): “Who put the bomb”. Aus einem einfachen Grund: Bei diesem Song darf eigentlich jeder der Jungs mal die Lead-Stimme übernehmen. Auch die Jungs, die sonst eher im Hintergrund “grooven”. So kommt man in den Genuss von allen Stimmen die sich immer verschieden anhören, wovon die Acapella-Musik schließlich auch lebt!
Falls du oder ihr (?) diese Rezension bis zum Schluss gelesen habt, danke ich dir/euch von Herzen und hoffe, diese hat euch ein wenig geholfen!
Weiterhin hoffe ich, dass die Overtones durch dieses Album viele, VIELE neue Fans finden! Es lohnt sich nämlich wirklich!”

07.01.2014 – Michelle – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Hatten von den “Overtones” schon die CD “Gambling Man”, die uns bereits sehr gut gefiel. Die Musik auf “Saturday Night at the Movies” ist noch besser; macht richtig Spaß beim Hören und verbreitet gute Laune!!!”

06.01.2014 – Birgit Luska – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Diese CD ist einfach unbeschreiblich gut! Als ich diese CD das erste Mal angehört habe, musste ich einfach mittanzen, genauso, wie meine Mutter und meine Schwester. Seit dem läuft sie bei uns hoch und runter. Ich habe diese CD einem Freund weiterempfohlen und er hat mir jetzt gesagt, dass er von allen Liedern einen Ohrwurm hat. Also bei dieser und bei allen anderen The Overtones CDs ist auf absoluten (Tanz-)Spaß und Ohrwürmer Garantie. Ich kann es einfach nur empfehlen!!!”

05.01.2014 – Elench3n – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Es ist ein sehr schönes Album das einen an eine sehr schöne Zeit und an schöne Fime erinnert. Das ist einfach nur weiter zu empfehlen. Hammer Album und eine super Band. The Overtones kümmern sich auch wundervoll um ihre deutsche Fans. :)”

04.01.2014 – Bianca Sommer – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Tolle Lieder, tolle Gruppe. Absolut empfehlenswertes Album! Da werden Erinnerungen wach an die gute alte Zeit, wo es noch so tolle Filme wie Pretty Woman, Dirty Dancing oder eben auch Dschungelbuch :o) mit toller Filmmusik gab!”

29.12.2013 – Andrete – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Mit ihrem dritten Album “Saturday Night at the Movies” treffen The Overtones auch diesmal wieder mitten ins Schwarze und lassen das Herz jedes Doo-Wop und Rock’n’Roll – Liebhabers höher schlagen! Mit Hits wie “Do you Love me” aus Dirty Dancing, “Shake a Tail Feather” aus Blues Brothers, und natürlich auch anderen bekannten Hits wie “Moon River”, “Teenager in Love” oder “Pretty Woman” – alle natürlich zeitgemäß abgemischt – hält es wirklich niemanden mehr auf dem Sofa und man wird förmlich “gezwungen”, das Tanzbein zu schwingen und mitzutanzen! Auch eigene Songs wie “Miss Hollywood”, “All About You” und “Superstar” überraschen mit Stimmgewalt und man merkt, wie viel Herzblut The Overtones in diesem Album verarbeitet haben.

Das Thema des Albums – Blockbuster – Filme, die wirklich jedem ein Begriff sind – wird perfekt umgesetzt und direkt ab dem ersten Song kann man mit einem dicken Grinsen im Gesicht mitsummen.

Hier in Deutschland ist “Saturday Night at the Movies” als limitierte Christmas Edition erhältlich und enthält insgesamt 5 Bonus Tracks, inklusive “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You”.

Dieses Album ist nicht nur für Fans der Band ein Muss, sondern eine Bereicherung in der Sammlung jedes Filmliebhabers und Fans des unverwechselbaren 50er Jahre Sounds!”

27.12.2013 – Antje Lucke – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Mit ihrem nunmehr 3. Album beweisen The Overtones, dass sie ihrer Lizenz zum “auf die Tanzfläche ziehen” mehr als gerecht werden! Ob Tanzklassiker wie “Do You Love Me”, “Hit The Road Jack” oder “Runaway”, gute Laune-Booster á la “Bare Necessities/I Wanna Be Like You”, aber auch die Diamanten aus der eigenen Feder wie “Miss Hollywood” oder “Superstar”, die sich nahtlos in die Riga der Klassiker einreihen – jeder einzelne Song besitzt den ganz speziellen “The Overtones-Schliff”, der ihn zu etwas Besonderem macht und aus der Masse hervorhebt!
Tanzbegeisterte kommen bei SNATM besonders auf ihre Kosten: ChaCha, Rumba, Jive, Quickstep u.v.m. – dieses Album sollte in keiner Tanzschule fehlen!!!
Die limited Christmas Edition verwöhnt darüber hinaus als Extra noch mit 4 peppigen Weihnachtssongs sowie dem bezaubernden und gleichzeitig mitreißenden Hit “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You”, der derzeit in Michael “Bully” Herbig’s Film “Buddy” und auf dem dazugehörigen Soundtrack zu hören ist.
Fazit: Mit “Saturday Night At The Movies (ltd Christmas Edition)” versprühen die 5 smarten Gentlemen wieder jede Menge Tanz- und Lebensfreude!!! Dieses Album verbreitet gute Laune pur!!! Unbedingte Kaufempfehlung!!!
P.S. Da ich oft gefragt werde: Das Album eignet sich wirklich für jedermann – egal, ob 14 Jahre oder 64 Jahre – es reißt einen einfach mit! (Perfektes-Geschenk-Garantie!)”

26.12.2013 – M. Lingott – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Das 3. Album von THE OVERTONES ist ein absolutes Muss für jeden Filmmusik Fan.
Filmsongklassikern wird neues Leben eingehaucht und man merkt besonders bei Bare Necesseties/I wanna be like you, wieviel Spaß die 5 Sänger im Tonstudio hatten .
Auch die eigenen Lieder “It had to be you” “Miss Hollywood”und “All about you” stehen den Covern der Klassiker in nichts nach. Besonders bei “All about you” merkt man, wieviel Herzschmerz von allen offenbart wird .
Weihnachten 2013 ist ja nun fast vorbei, aber trotz alledem sollte man diese limitierte Version von “Saturday Night at the Movies” in seine CD Sammlung aufnehmen, da ja ausser den 4 extra Weihnachtsliedern auch “Can’t take my eyes off you” vom Soundtrack von Michael “Bully” Herbigs neuem Film “Buddy” mit dabei ist .”

26.12.2013 – C. Bergh – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Wie bereits bei früheren Tonträgern besticht die Musik von den Overtones mit dem Gute-Laune-Faktor. Die Coverversionen respektive ihre ganz eigenen Arrangements bekannter Hits überraschen immer wieder aufs Neue.”

20.12.2013 – Elisabeth – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Endlich ein neues Album von den Overtones, ihr drittes.
Die Cover-Versionen der berühmten Filmsongs sind klasse, die Jungs geben ihnen durch ihren Gesang einen völlig neuen Stil.
Auch die Christmas Songs sind klasse, tolle Idee auch mal solche Lieder zu singen. Einfach top!”

22.11.2013 – Jovi-Girl – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“Wunderbar, wertvoll, wahnsinnig gut! Dieses Album von The Overtones ist mal wieder fabelhaft. Es ist mittlerweile das 3. Album von den smarten Briten und es reißt einen einfach mit. Sie nehmen verschiedene Filmsongs und geben diesen einfach neuen Schwung. Ich finde, sie hören sich manchmal besser an als das Original. Ein wunderbares Weihnachtsgeschenk für jung und alt. Hab mir die Musik auch noch nicht übergehört, obwohl ich sie mir bestimmt schon tausend mal angehört habe. In diesem Sinne, los, kaufen!”

20.11.2013 – Fin – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

“The Overtones haben es bei mir wieder geschafft mich mit zu reißen. Ich finde das Album einfach klasse. Die Lieder gehen ins Ohr und von da in die Beine einfach super auch wenn Sie covern Sie tun es auf ihre weise und das hört sich sehr gut an. Hat ja auch jeder seinen eigenen Geschmack ;).”

15.11.2013 – Merlin – Bewertung: 5/5

 


 

Amazon (UK)

 

“Fantastic. Never heard of this group before but saw some reviews for this CD when browsing and liked the music on the album so thought would give them a go. This album did not disappoint. I enjoy all the tracks.”

08.05.2014 – Mrs J – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Brilliant – just brilliant is all I can say about the Overtones – even better in concert! Cant wait for the next album.”

08.05.2014 – M Burnett – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Loved the latest album from The Overtones! Familiar songs presented in a fresh, catchy way! These guys are fantastic and I will continue to support them with each album!”

19.04.2014 – Janna M Landry – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“The third album from The Overtones, and as ever the boys have chosen a great selection of cover songs to go alongside a few originals. It’s a feel good dance fest, with a couple of slow songs thrown in for good measure. If you enjoy great songs, great harmonies and a little bit of cheese then you’ll love this… It’s certainly been on repeat in my CD player for months now and I’m still not tired of it! Definitely one to recommend. I look forward to album four :-D
The Mother’s Day edition has an extra five tracks, which I absolutely love. Magic Moments is a classic, and the boys do an excellent job.”

18.04.2014 – Ms Lyndsey A Stanton – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Love this album, have not stopped listening to it since release. Songs and sounds are amazing. Loved the mothers day touch. Seen this album being performed in concert, love these guys music. Please support these guys, they have an amazing sound and personality.”

09.04.2014 – Glenn Jamieson- Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Saw these guys live recently. The audience was made up of 18 -80 year olds. Well done to the boys for filling a niche and making their sound so popular. They will have along career ahead and providing they can still perform like this when they are Tony Bennett’s age, they will never be poor or forgotten.”

30.03.2014 – Simon Miller – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“A return to beautiful harmonies, nostalgic movie tunes everyone should know and love already. This is the group that just keep giving.”

19.03.2014 – D. Barclay – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Bought this for my daughter who is a big fan and when she had it on found myself singing along to the songs, so lovely to hear a band singing songs that I remember but without making me feel out. I like a mix of music but these young men are lovely singers and so nice to hear a song and be able to hear the lyrics over the competing musical instruments like a lot of the current bands in the charts. So glad my daughter introduced me to this band love to hear them sing when she puts the CD’s on.”

11.02.2014 – Huntress – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Wasn’t too sure after I had played it through once, but there are some tracks that I love straight away & the others will grow on me. The first track is just fab “Saturday Night At The Movies” & I also love Moon River (although nobody will top Andy Williams’s verison), Breaking Up Is Hard To Do, Who Put The Bomp plus there are a couple of new tracks here as well such as Miss Hollywood Superstar & All About You. The Overtones are fast becoming a firm favourtie with me.”

02.02.2014 – Maygirl – Rating: 4/5

 


 

“I’m such huge fan of the Overtones, I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this album, makes me want to get up and do bit of dirty dancing and shake my tail feather! Records all varies from 50’s/60’s, so if this is your music era then go for it. I reccommend it to anyone :o). Well done Lads!”

25.01.2014 – Kerry Lloyd – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Brilliant! Never really heard them before, though I have heard of them. Really clear peaceful chilled listening experience. Great sound, have to investigate more CD’s.”

18.01.2014 – Gary R Usher – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“What to say…These guys are fantastic and yet again have produced an album that I can listen to from start to finish without skipping a track. If you enjoy doo-wop music and a group that each member can sing on their own, then The Overtones are something of an necessity for your music collection. 10\10 Love it!”

12.01.2014 – H31n3e – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Fantastic vocals from the group just make you want to sing along to these great “oldies songs”. Recommend this for any age group as my 4year old grandson loves singing and dancing to this cd.”

05.01.2014 – Bea – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Put your dancing shoes on – again! Another great album from one of the hardest working groups. The Overtones always deliver a great quality product and this will appeal to all ages. From the spine tingling ‘Moon River’ to the rocking ‘Hit The Road Jack’, an amazing collaboration with the first lady of soul Beverley Knight. Lachies Bass voice is awesome!! The musicians are just brilliant. The Overtones attention to detail really pays off. If you get the chance to see the boys live, please go. I guarantee a great party night and they are all gorgeous to look at as well !! A beautifully crafted cd that will have you dancing and singing along to it every time. The Overtones are Ambasadors for Operation Smile uk so watch out for their charity cd SMILE. It will bring a tear to the eye.”

22.12.2013 – Deecee – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Normally buy the odd track, but I love all these tracks from my era cleverly sung by this group. They have a good range of voices. And I have several favourites already.”

20.12.2013 – Bargainbuyer – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“I chose to give this item a 5* rating as it was a surprise present for my wife. She thoroughly enjoyed listening to it (more than once ….) She doesn’t like many of todays’ artists but this is one of her favourite groups. So, overall, this went down well and got me a few ‘Brownie’ points …”

07.12.2013 – Len Bickford – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“There’s no stopping these guys, a superb new album with a combination of oldies which are better than the originals and new songs you’ll be singing in no time.

I’m seeing them live in February for the third time, if you think they sound good on their records and on television go and see them live, you won’t be disappointed. Five stars couldn’t be more appropriate for this group because all five of them are stars.”

06.12.2013 – Alan Powell – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Saw them on BBC Breakfast where the sang on demand with no backing. Excellent harmony and really good singing voices. The song choice is excellent.”

24.11.2013 – John Laird – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“After seeing The Overtones before they ‘made it’, I have since been a fan! I’ve recruited my sister and my mum too and we have seen them live each year since 2011. This is their 3rd album in as many years and doesn’t disappoint. I listen to it whilst doing the dishes and the ironing, it’s very upbeat, very catchy! Loads of well known songs and some new ones thrown in too. Again another fabulous compilation from The Overtones.”

21.11.2013 – Karen Cayir – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Even better than I anticipated. The musicality and fun shine through with this very talented group of singers. Thank you.”

14.11.2013 – Anthony – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“The Overtones have outdone themselves again with this great album, putting a unique spin on old hits and spinning new tales of their own. Bravo, Gentlemen! And thanks for the great music!”

10.11.2013 – Tokyo Iller – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“I was looking forward to getting this album from the day I heard the theme was going to be Saturday Night At The Movies and the result is better than I imagined! Some classic film songs that have been rearranged to The Overtones’ modern Doo wop style, plus a few originals that fit in brilliantly with the film theme (Miss Hollywood, All About You and Superstar). This is a selection of songs that’ll make you want to sing and dance along (especially tracks like The Bare Necessities/I Wanna Be Like You, Do You Love Me, Saturday Night At The Movies, Pretty Woman and Shake A Tail Feather) but also tug at your heart strings – Moon River is gorgeous with the extra harmonies, and All About You is a beautiful, moving ballad. Overall – Brilliant, The Overtones’ best work yet! Keep up the good work fellas!”

08.11.2013 – Eleri – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“WOW!!! Where do I begin? The Overtones are on their 3rd album now. And what a phenomenal album it is.
I thought nothing could ever match up to their first 2 albums Good Ol’ Fashioned Love & Higher, but I honestly think this is their best work to date. With something to please everyone.
Saturday Night at The Movies has put the fun factor back into our music charts.
This album is filled with classics from all the films you know and love that outshine the originals giving them a contemporary feel with their special trademark Overtones twist and also features 3 fabulous originals written by The Overtones themselves.
I love listening to this album from beginning to end. This is one of the very few albums I would not skip a single track. Choosing a favourite is IMPOSSIBLE, but I will tell you about a few of the tracks I love!One of the originals that stands out for me is the stunning ballad ‘All About You’ It is an emotional song the content of which resonates in most peoples lives at one time or another.
The beautiful and pure voice of Timmy Matley in this song deeply move the listener with the edition of Lachie Chapman’s deep voice giving gravitas to the emotions stirred by the song.Lachie’s raw sexy beginning of ‘Do You Love Me’ from Dirty Dancing invites a naughty tingle prior to Timmy’s takeover bringing on the desire to dance which overwhelms your whole body. Sure to be a favourite on the upcoming live tour.’It Had To Be You’ is an upbeat feel good song which show cases their individual voices beautifully from Mike’s distinctive husky voice and Mark’s smooth deeper middle tones down to Lachie’s awesome Bass and then right up to Darren’s brilliant falsetto completed by Timmy’s incredible voice.The lead vocals being given to Lachie on ‘The Bare Necessities’ from Jungle Book must be the best bit of casting in history! Absolutely love it! Leading effortlessly into ‘I Wanna be Like You’ with Timmy on lead vocals ratcheting up the fun & bringing out the inner child within all of us.’Breaking Up Is Hard To Do’ Shows the versatility of The Overtones with each member taking their turn on lead vocals to create the their beautiful signature sound. It is one of my favourite covers on the album. I absolutely love what they did with the song. Neil Sedaka would be very proud! And not forgetting Timmy’s superb trouser splitting high notes at the end of the song.’Moon River’ from Breakfast At Tiffany’s – A hauntingly beautiful version sang by the amazing Lachie on lead vocals. No words I could muster up would ever do justice to describing the sheer perfection of it.Beverley Knight the queen of British soul music joins The Overtones for a mind blowing version of ‘Hit The Road Jack’ Lachie’s voice compliments Beverley’s voice perfectly for what I truly believe is the best collaboration ever.

The Overtones version of ‘Pretty Woman’ is the sexiest I’ve ever heard. With Lachie’s growls and purrs this track should come with a parental advisory label. It’s oozes molten lava baby!

Not only are The Overtones amazing vocalists they are also outstanding performers/dancers/twerkers! Don’t miss their 2014 UK tour.”

05.11.2013 – Sarah Dan – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“Another fabulous album from the best vintage pop group in the business, The Overtones. Going back to the Good Ol’Fashioned Love style of their first album which made me love them in the first place, but with the modern twist which their have made their own.
Favourite tracks are the Jungle Book Medley (who wouldn’t?) and Moon River (of course). And the little twiddly “da da dada da daaa” in Don’t Worry, Be Happy.
There’s going to be shaking balconies and dancing a gogo when The Overtones tour next year, so get the album now and start learning the moves. *does the mashed potato*”

04.11.2013 – Mabel’s Mom – Rating: 5/5

 


 

“The Overtones have returned with this new CD, and the quality shines through, yet again. Admittedly I do not think this is quite as special as the platinum-selling CD “Good Ol’ Fashioned Love”, simply because I found that album more “up-beat”, particularly with classics such as “Carolyn”. A personal favourite on “Saturday Night at the Movies” is the second track; “Do You Love Me?”, which is an excellent cover. The cover of Hit the Road Jack feat. Beverley Night is also excellent.

The album has not been rated 5 stars, simply because – as stated – I personally do not love it quite as much as their first album, although that won’t stop me giving this CD a 3rd, 4th, 5th and 50th listen!

Good purchase, and sure to go down well with anyone who loves some of these sterling hits.”

04.11.2013 – Dom Cowell – Rating: 5/5

 

New album "Sweet Soul Music" OUT NOW!!! www.theovertones.tv